Channel 8 News Summary

Last weekend the Ministry of Social Cohesion held meetings in Berbice to address concerns of Citizens.

The Guyana United League for Development Association (GULDA) recently hosted a fun day for children for Orphanages in Berbice.

ISKON launched a Krishna Home Programme Initiative at Bath, W.C.B. recently.

Upper Corentyne residents will soon be able to uplift their passports at Springlands.

The West Berbice Chamber  of Commerce in Collaboration with the Ministry of Tourism will hold a number of activities at the Paradise Beach, West Coast Berbice on Sunday,August 2,2015.

Thanks to all those who supported and contributed to the All Saints Anglican Church Cake Sale held recently. May God Bless You.



Minister of Social Cohesion Ms. Amna Ally held meetings in Region 6 yesterday.

The “Good News” Day Camp hosted by the All Saints Anglican Church concluded last Friday.

As part of its 176th Anniversary Celebrations,the Guyana Police Force hosted a Medical Outreach in Region 5 yesterday.

The Minister of Social Cohesion is urging Guyanese to be united and to live in harmony.

The Rosary Group of the All Saints Anglican Church in New Amsterdam hosted a successful fund raising Cake Sale last Saturday in front of DTV-8.


The All Saints Anglican Church’s Annual Day Camp currently in progress.

The Minister of Education is requesting that music be made a compulsory subject in schools across the country.

At around 15:15 a decomposed body of a male was found in the vicinity of Burnham Park in New Amsterdam.

An update :   Last week Channel 8 News reported on an accident involving a motorcyclist and a pedestrian.

Pandit Deodat Persaud of the Golden Om Dharmic Youth Organization is urging parents to better influence their children.

The Seva Sadna Centre at Ankerville is nearing completion.


Education Minister, Dr.Rupert Roopnarine says he has called for a comprehensive audit of all schools in Guyana.

The Golden Om Dharmic Group held its 15th Annual Vedic Camp’s Graduation Ceremony last Friday.

Education Minister Dr.Rupert Roopnarine handed over a quantity of wheelchairs to the Region 6 Department of Education last Friday.

Earlier today a Jaguar was shot and killed in New Amsterdam.

The Hearts of Oak Masters Football Club launched its Annual Teach Them Young Programme earlier today.

The TCL Annual Cricket Academy concluded last Friday with a presentation ceremony.

Community Announcement

The All Saints’  Anglican Church will hold a Cake Sale on Saturday,July 25,2015 in front of  DTV-8 starting at 08:00 hrs. All proceeds will go towards the Church’s Building Fund.



The Guyana Water Incorporated (GWI) is advising customers to be cautious during this period of excessive rainfall and flooding.

The PPP is calling on the Government to properly address the current flood situation.

Last evening, a bandit shot his accomplish while in the process of robbing a supermarket in New Amsterdam.

President David Granger convened an emergency meeting to deal with the flood situation.

Yesterday a motocyclist and a pedestrian were hospitalised following a collision at Enmore,E.C.D.

Berbice Super Station